Aside

We lost someone this week .. a young girl.. passed through this world much to quickly.. with too much difficulty.. it makes me angry.. I want to yell .. “Stop Taking Them!”… I want them to grow up and old.. find love and joy..

I feel overwhelmed by the intensity of my feelings about death.. cancer and my commitment to stop both.. I find myself searching out song after song that has some meaning to me and find relief in them..

I see trees of green… red roses too
I see ’em bloom… for me and for you
And I think to myself… what a wonderful world.

I liked that song or enjoyed that artist… I find words and phrases and lilting music fill my mind and touch me like never before.. a gift ..one of many received..  How can the world be so evil and so good.. so selfish and so giving..

I see skies of blue… and clouds of white
Bright blessed days…. warm sacred nights
And I think to myself… what a wonderful world.

I wonder what brought me to this place.. and then the message comes loud and clear.. why have I wasted so much time doing so little and how can I do as much as I can in the time I have left..

The colors of a rainbow… so pretty in the sky
Are also on the faces… of people going by
I see friends shaking hands…..sayin’.. how do you do?
They’re really sayin’… I love you.

I wish I could gather them all.. like flowers from a field.. and keep the close for me to watch..

I hear babies cry… I watch them grow
They’ll learn much more… than I’ll never know
And I think to myself… what a wonderful world

Yes, I think to myself… what a wonderful world… oh yeah!

 I cannot save them all.. or any of them for that matter.. so for now I will listen to the music.. block out the heartbreak.. and know that God’s arms are around those that could no longer fight..

Rest In Peace ~ Amanda Gavin

listen to the music..

Leave a comment